Assisted Ventilation of the Neonate Por
"We hope this text will stimulate its readers to continue to search for better therapies as they use the wisdom of these pages in their clinical practice."
Fetal Medicine Por
"We were clear from the start that this edition should continue and build on the same premise as the previous, namely combining basic science with contemporary clinical practice. At the same time, we wished to thoroughly revise the content and style to reflect the rapid advances in fetal medicine and science. We have changed the appearance of chapters with a focus on major topics in fetal medicine, providing scientific evidence on recent advances, structured text, key points at the beginning of each chapter, concise chapter summaries, new images and new videos online. The aim is to allow the readers to both rapidly access relevant information to aid management and to provide a comprehensive understanding of the topic. With these aims, there are numerous new chapters and extensive revision of existing chapters to keep pace with the dramatic innovation in fetal medicine."
Infectious Disease and Pharmacology Por
"While there is no substitute to reading journal articles on a regular basis, the “Questions and Controversies” series of books provides an excellent alternative. This third edition of the series was developed to highlight the clinical problems of most concern to practitioners. The series has been increased from six to seven volumes and includes new sections on genetics and pharmacology. In total, there are 70 new chapters not included previously. "
Neurology Por
"The primary goal of this third edition is to provide the reader with a clearer management strategy of common and rare neurologic disorders of the neonate based on the most updated comprehension of their underlying pathophysiology. A desired secondary goal is that the highlighted gaps in knowledge will serve as a strong stimulus for future research."
Rennie and Roberton's Textbook of Neonatology Por
"This Fifth Edition of the Textbook of Neonatology will be a Silver Jubilee Edition, because it is now 25 years since the First Edition was published in 1986. I have renamed the book Rennie and Roberton's Textbook of Neonatology to reflect both the contribution made by Cliff Roberton in establishing the work as a standard text, and my own efforts in keeping it going over the last few editions."
Avery's Diseases of the Newborn Por
"The book continues to be thoroughly (and sometimes painfully) revised and updated by some of the best clinicians and investigators in their field—several of whom are new contributors to this edition. Some chapters required more extensive revision than others, particularly those that deal with areas in which we have benefitted from new knowledge and/or its application to new diagnostic and therapeutic practices. This is particularly true in areas such as neurology, hematology, global health and neonatal screening, and genomics. Several new chapters have been added that reflect the continued growth and development of our subspecialty. These include chapters on brain injury (both preterm and term), palliative care, gastroesophageal reflux, platelet disorders, transfusion therapy, neonatal hypertension, and the ear/hearing disorders."
Gastroenterology and Nutrition Por
"Although there is no substitute to reading journal articles on a regular basis, the Questions and Controversies series of books provides an excellent alternative. This third edition of the series was developed to highlight the clinical problems of most concern to practitioners. The series has been increased from six to seven volumes and includes new sections on genetics and pharmacology. In total, there are 70 new chapters not included previously."
Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate Por
""This edition has had perhaps the most radical changes, with new chapters reflecting important advances in quality- and evidence-based medicine; a new chapter on genetics, inborn errors of metabolism and neonatal screening; a chapter on family-centered care and another on understanding the science of developmental care."
The Newborn Lung Por
"The third edition of The Newborn Lung addresses many of the recent advances in the understanding of the mechanisms of normal and abnormal lung development and describes new strategies for the management of neonatal respiratory failure. The book emphasizes those areas where there have been major new developments in recent years. Several chapters deal with strategies that may reduce some of the chronic sequelae of neonatal respiratory failure."
Volpe's Neurology of the Newborn Por
"The organization of the sixth edition is identical to that of previous editions. However, in addition to extensive updating, revising, and rewriting, many original chapters have been split into multiple chapters."
Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, 2-Volume Set Por
For this 11th edition, we have added several new sections and multiple new authors, notably expanding our international contributors, hence providing a truly global perspective. Many sections have been completely reorganized, and a large number of chapters have been rewritten or updated. We remain exceedingly grateful to our accomplished authors who have responded enthusiastically and maintained our need for a rapid timeline in this electronic era."
Hematology, Immunology, and Genetics Por
"While there is no substitute to reading journal articles on a regular basis, the Neonatal Questions and Controversies series of books provides an excellent alternative. The third edition of this series was developed to highlight the clinical problems of most concern to practitioners. The series has increased from six to seven volumes and includes new sections on genetics and pharmacology. In total, there are 70 new chapters not included previously."
Neonatal and Infant Dermatology Por
"We began this, the third edition of this textbook with the intention of a minor change in title and an expansion of the scope of the book. Over time we found ourselves turning to this book, not only as a reference when evaluating newborns with skin diseases, but infants as well. Hence the changed title to Neonatal and Infant Dermatology, 3rd edition. This has resulted in the addition of a few new chapters, the augmenting of others, as well as an overall updating of the entire book. We are very fortunate to have as co-editors two extremely able pediatric dermatologists, Erin Mathes and Andrea Zaenglein, who embraced the vision we had for the book, and helped immeasurably in bringing it to print. We also thank the chapter authors for their outstanding contributions – without them the book would not exist. We hope the readers will agree with us that this is a textbook which you can turn to again and again as you see young infants with a wide variety of skin diseases."
Perinatal Genetics Por
"The field of medical genetics has advanced more rapidly than any other in medicine. The obstetrician-gynecologist and maternal–fetal medicine specialist must be able to keep abreast of this complex and changing field. "
Workbook in Practical Neonatology Por
"As true for the first edition, this book is designed to provide an opportunity to directly solve problems as you read through the clinical scenarios. The workbook format has four objectives: to allow you to evaluate your own knowledge for each problem presented; to permit you to identify areas of knowledge in which you are deficient so that you may read up and enhance your armamentarium of knowledge; to keep you engaged and alert as you solve the problems presented and to have fun while learning."
Fetal and Neonatal Physiology, 2-Volume Set Por
"More than any prior edition of this textbook, the fifth edition has been substantially updated and revised. Nearly one third of the chapters have been written by new authors, and 16 chapters appear in this book for the first time."
Hemodynamics and Cardiology Por
"Since the publication of the second edition of Hemodynamics and Cardiology in the Neonatology Questions and Controversies series, advances have continued in the field of neonatal hemodynamics. To acknowledge these advances, the third edition has been completely redesigned with the practicing neonatologist in mind. Accordingly, there is only a two-chapter part on cardiology, addressing relevant aspects of the management of neonates with complex congenital heart disease that every neonatologist needs to be familiar with. Having redirected the focus to neonatology, the third edition now includes new parts and subsections reflecting this shift in target audience. In addition, the topics discussed in the previous edition and included in this book have been updated to accurately reflect the advances in neonatal hemodynamics over the past decade or so."
Nephrology and Fluid/Electrolyte Physiology Por
"While there is no substitute to reading journal articles on a regular basis, the “Questions and Controversies” series of books provides an excellent alternative. This third edition of the series was developed to highlight the clinical problems of most concern to practitioners. The series has been increased from six to seven volumes and includes new sections on genetics and pharmacology. In total, there are 70 new chapters not included previously."
Remington and Klein's Infectious Diseases of the Fetus and Newborn Infant Por
"The scope of this book encompasses infections of the fetus and newborn, including infections acquired in utero, during the delivery process, and in early infancy. When appropriate, sequelae of these infections that affect older children and adults also are included. Infection in the adult is described when pertinent to recognition of infection in the pregnant woman and her developing fetus and newborn infant. "