2021 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy
Por "Completely updated and revised, the 27th edition of this best-selling reference provides instant access to the latest recommendations for treatment of infectious diseases in children, including COVID-19. For each disease, the authors provide a commentary to help select the best of all antimicrobial choices. Drug descriptions cover all antimicrobial agents available today and include complete information about dosing regimens.New in the 27th edition:Continuous updates of drug and dosing changes available online at aap.org/Nelsons4 new chaptersReorganized chapter order to improve functionality." Other authors: Elizabeth Barnett (Consultant Editor); Joseph B. Cantey (Consultant Editor); David W. Kimberlin (Consultant Editor); Paul E. Palumbo (Consultant Editor); Jason Sauberan (Consultant Editor); J. Howard Smart (Consultant Editor); William J. Steinbach (Consultant Editor)
Challenging Cases in Pediatric Hospital Medicine
Por "Challenging Cases in Pediatric Hospital Medicine is a collection of interesting pediatric hospital medicine cases that address clinical conundrums or issues and are to be used as teaching cases of clinical reasoning. Other cases will use inpatient care as a launching point for complex ethical dilemmas or system-based care. Each chapter progresses through the steps of patient presentation, case workup and management, as well as the case outcome and follow-up. Clinical competencies are included. Chapters conclude with valuable pearls, discussions of aspects of care that are not just disease management but a true reflection of the scope of pediatric hospital medicine. Recommended readings round out each chapter."
Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care
Por "For pediatric critical care medicine fellows who may read the textbook cover to cover, and for others who need an updated reference for anything related to pediatric critical care, the new edition will not disappoint. Each color-coded section provides best-evidence clinical approaches to pediatric critical care issues based on contemporary genetic, biochemical, and physiologic infrastructure. Because authors typically want to include all relevant details in their discussion and a hard copy textbook has physical limitations, readers are encouraged to make use of the expanded electronic content included with the sixth edition. Board review questions, composed for most chapters, will be valuable for new and repeat readers and are also available in the electronic content."
The Harriet Lane Handbook of Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy
Por "This second edition of The Harriet Lane Handbook of Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy was, like the first edition, a collaboration that included the disciplines of pediatric infectious diseases, microbiology, and clinical pharmacology. We recognize that decisions regarding effective antimicrobial therapy require the knowledge and experience of all three of these disciplines, particularly when caring for children whose infections are complications of underlying conditions or the compromised immunity that results from chemotherapy or surgery. ... Decisions regarding antimicrobial therapy for children require an understanding of biologic development, mechanisms of resistance, and pharmacology. We hope that this handbook will help clinicians in their efforts to provide the most effective therapy for each individual circumstance."
Nelson Pediatric Symptom-Based Diagnosis Por
"With a user-friendly, well-tabulated, illustrated approach, this text will help the reader differentiate between the many disease states causing a common symptom. The inclusion of many original tables and figures should help the reader identify distinguishing features of diseases and work through a diagnostic approach to the symptom. Modified and borrowed artwork and tables from other outstanding current sources have been added as well. The combination of all of these illustrations and tables with diagnostic clues within the text will help provide a quick visual guide to the differential diagnosis of the various diseases under discussion. The diagnostic approach includes standard laboratory and radiologic testing, as well as advanced imaging studies and genetic-based analysis.
Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners
Por "Extensive updating and revisions have been made throughout the book at the level that is appropriate for cardiology fellows, primary care physicians, residents, medical students, and other health care providers. This comprehensive book will also serve as a quick review for practicing cardiologists. Any health care provider who is interested in learning about pediatric cardiology topics will also find this book very informative. Despite extensive revision, the book maintains its original goal of providing practitioners with fundamental and practical information for the management of children with cardiac problems. Thus, the general layout of the book has been preserved to serve as a small reference book, avoiding excessive theoretical and sometimes controversial discussions or detailed surgical descriptions commonly found in subspecialty textbooks."
Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease
Por "The role of a central compendium of knowledge of pediatric gastrointestinal, hepatic, and nutritional disorders has never been more important. Having such a resource at the clinician’s fingertips should facilitate a more directed and focused problem-based approach. That was our goal 27 years ago with the publication of the first edition of this textbook, and it remains our goal now. For novices to the field as well as for experienced clinicians, it is invaluable to have a primary resource even in this age of instant electronic searches. As powerful as today’s search engines are, they cannot substitute for a well-written comprehensive textbook."
Pediatrics a Competency-Based Companion
Por "Pediatrics: A Competency-Based Companion is modeled after the template designed by Barry Mann in Surgery: A Competency-Based Companion. Our goal is simple and timely: to illustrate application of the six Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education competencies across clinical settings where pediatric care is provided, including the newborn nursery, the outpatient office well child and episodic care, the hospital inpatient setting, the neonatal intensive care unit, the pediatric intensive care unit, and the emergency department."
Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Deformation
Por "Since Peter Dunn and David Smith presented the basic concepts of deformation in 1975-1976, it has become accepted that unusual mechanical forces are responsible for a wide variety of structural birth defects. The impact of mechanical forces on form not only has provided an understanding of extrinsic constraint deformations, but it has also led to the appreciation that many malformation sequences can be interpreted as arising from an initiating malformation that results in altered mechanical forces and a cascade of intrinsic deformations. This biomechanical perspective provides a better understanding of the importance of mechanical forces in normal morphogenesis."
Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis Por
"The Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis was created to enhance the clinical experience of students, residents, nurses, and practitioners who care for children."
AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care
Por "The landmark guide to pediatric medicine - updated and streamlined for today's clinicians and students For more than 80 years, the American Academy of Pediatrics has been the nation's leading and most trusted child health authority. The new second edition of AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care continues the tradition by providing a wealth of expert guidance spanning every aspect of current clinical practice.When you purchase the AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care, 2nd Edition print copy, you also receive FREE eBook access!Gain a better understanding of the relationship between mental and physiologic health and between early childhood adversity and long-term health outcomes.Deliver the best pediatric health care with step-by-step recommendations on what to do, when and how to do it, when to admit, and when to refer.Effectively integrate mental health care into routine primary pediatric care: mental health screening, surveillance, promotion, symptoms, and conditions are now fully integrated through the text.Expertly apply the latest approaches and techniques with 75 new chapters, including Planned Coordinated Care to Support the Medical Home; Pediatric History: Assessing the Social Environment; Promoting the Health of Young Children; Applying Behavior Change Science; Conducting the Health Supervision Visit; Psychosocial Therapies; Transitions to Adulthood; Children in Poverty; Maternal Depression; Disruptive Behavior and Aggression; and more.Diagnose, treat, and manage 85 of the most common physiologic and behavioral signs and symptoms more effectively.Includes more than 600 full-color photos and illustrations."
Cummings Pediatric Otolaryngology
Por "Our goal of this first edition of Cummings Pediatric Otolaryngology is to provide a lasting resource for students, residents, fellows, and practicing physicians alike and to reflect the dynamic and evolving field of pediatric otolaryngology."
Pediatric Bone
Por "We have kept in this second edition the same overall organization set in the first one. There have been changes in the list of contributors with a few declining and new ones embarking with enthusiasm. The first part of the book deals with basic information on the major systems controlling the development, structure and homeostasis of bone tissue, with one chapter added on dental development and maturation. The second part describes the tools and techniques validated for the evaluation of bone development and its abnormalities. To follow suggestions received, a new chapter on radiographic imaging completes this section. The third part deals with specific disorders or groups of disorders with emphasis where appropriate on basic aberrations and their clinical expression. As was requested by several readers, we have tried to provide more information on management of the various diseases. We hope that the new edition will be well received, as pediatricians and researchers working in the field of pediatric bone diseases see the need for such a textbook."
Pediatric Hand Therapy
Por "The purpose of this book is to provide a comprehensive, easy to read and use reference for the healthcare provider who is caring for pediatric and adolescent upper extremities. The book details the formation and functional development of the child's upper limb. Subsequently, the necessary details and key points of the examination are discussed along with details of various outcome measures. In addition, splinting and taping techniques as well as prosthetic use are emphasized. The remainder of the book is organized into various sections to permit the reader easy access to specific diagnoses."
Practical Paediatrics
Por "Practical Paediatrics is intended to bridge the gap between some of the highly summarized handbooks of paediatrics and the bigger textbooks. It gives more than the bare dot-points of paediatric learning without going into highly advanced detail. It covers all of the common and important childhood conditions seen in the more resource-rich countries, and also covers many aspects of normal child development, family influences, and topics such as Indigenous child health.
Smith's Recognizable Patterns of Human Malformation
Por "The information set forth in this book represents an amalgamation of the knowledge, commitment, and hard work of many individuals. ... Each has made his or her own significant contribution to the development of this book, and each has been a great inspiration to me."
Atlas of Pediatric Echocardiography
Por "The aim of this book is not to teach echocardiography or the morphology of cardiac abnormalities in detail but rather to offer a simple way to establish correct, mainly preoperative, diagnosis and how to define abnormalities by linking “ Andersonian ” terminology of congenital cardiac lesions with illustrative echocardiographic images. "
Feigin and Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Por
Imaging in Pediatrics
Por "This book is ideally suited for anyone who is interested in becoming more proficient at understanding pediatric imaging in a primarily clinical setting. Physicians who use this volume will be able to intelligently discuss recommendations and results of imaging with the radiologist, clinical colleagues, and, most importantly, patients and families."
Netter's Pediatrics
Por "Our hope is that this volume will aid you in the care of children. We hope these words and drawings will bring the subject matter alive and help you derive as much practice knowledge and pleasure from using Netter's Pediatrics as we experienced in bringing it to you."
Pediatric Decision-Making Strategies
Por "The information in the book is the most up to date available. The literature has been extensively reviewed, and many of the algorithms have been discussed with the appropriate specialists. We believe that we have created algorithms that are accurate and easy to follow. There is rarely a single acceptable approach to any given problem, and not all diagnoses can fit neatly into an algorithm. Even though the algorithms cannot be considered all-inclusive, the goal is to facilitate a logical and efficient stepwise approach to reasonable differential diagnoses for the common clinical problems discussed. This task could not have been completed without the generous help of many of the faculty members of the Medical College of Wisconsin and Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin."
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Sperling Pediatric Endocrinology
Por "In his foreword to the first edition in 1996, Solomon A. Kaplan, MD (1924-2017) stated 'The aim of the editor and contributors to this volume is to establish an effective bridge between the surging progress in biomedical science and the clinical practice of pediatric endocrinology.' This has been the guiding principle of each edition and remarkably, the surging pace of progress in biomedical sciences remains unabated as does its application to pediatric endocrinology, justifying this updated and expanded fifth edition. "
Breastfeeding: A Guide for the Medical Profession
Por " ... These new research results include the observation that, when an infant suckles from the breast, there is a large outpouring of 19 different gastrointestinal hormones, including cholecystokinin, gastrin, and insulin, in both mother and infant. Several of these hormones stimulate the growth of the baby’s and the mother’s intestinal villi, thus increasing the surface area for the absorption of additional calories with each feeding. The stimulus for these changes is touching the nipple of the mother or the inside of the infant’s mouth. The stimulus in both infant and mother results in the release of oxytocin in the periventricular area of the brain, which leads to production of these hormones via the vagus nerve. These pathways were essential for survival thousands of years ago, when periods of famine were common, before the development of modern agriculture and the storage of grain."
Food Allergy
Por "Our main goal was to create a practical, relevant and clinically-based resource for food allergy and related adverse reactions to foods. The specific target audience was allergy specialists, medical residents and fellows-in-training, general pediatricians, family physicians, nutritionists and other health professionals with an interest in this important topic. Our hope was that the individual chapters in this textbook would provide the reader with ready access to pertinent information. The chapters have been specifically templated with boxed key points, clinical pearls and case studies to help illustrate key teaching points."
The Harriet Lane Handbook
Por "Today, The Harriet Lane Handbook continues to be updated and revised by house officers for house officers. Recognizing the limit to what can be included in a pocket guide, additional information has been placed online and for use via mobile applications. The online-only content includes references, expanded text, and additional tables, figures, and images."
Disorders of the Respiratory Tract in Children
Por "In addition to the changes in the editorial team, we have 87 new authors and 8 new chapters, with all the other chapters being completely revised, reorganized, and updated. Our new chapters reflect many developments in pediatric pulmonology. The era of biologicals is upon us, and we have chapters on molecular therapies for cystic fibrosis and asthma. The importance of interactions with other specialties is reflected in chapters on the principles of mechanical ventilation, respiratory complications of intensive care, and congenital heart disease, as well as pulmonary embolism (no organ is an island, either). Globalization is reflected with a chapter on emerging lung infections, and there are other new chapters on the respiratory complications of Down syndrome and other genetic disorders, as well as hypersensitivity pneumonitis and eosinophilic lung diseases. We have attempted to avoid dishing up the mixture as before, good though it was, in favor of revivifying the book."
On Call Pediatrics
Por "... the concepts reviewed in this and previous versions of On Call Pediatrics remain very relevant, and the approach to patient problems discussed in this edition can continue to be applied effectively when evaluating hospitalized children. Therefore we believe that this edition will continue to serve as a valuable resource for all providers who care for children."
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets
Por "Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, Third Edition, has six sections. As in previous editions, the first section addresses life-threatening conditions and immediate stabilization of children. The second section features common chief complaints that are frequently managed in the ED. Later sections focus on important medical emergencies, surgical emergencies, major and minor trauma, and environmental emergencies. Finally, questions and answers relating to special topics in pediatric emergency medicine (procedural sedation, bio-terrorism, patient safety, risk management, and the transport of children to specialized centers) are included. All chapters in this third edition have been revised and renewed, with current references and updated information. There are dozens of new questions to inform, entertain, and test the readers. Many questions have accompanying references and relevant websites to allow further study. Classic photographs and radiographs enhance learning throughout the book. Each chapter features Key Points that highlight essential tips and pearls. The Top 100 Secrets have been revamped and summarize the most salient points of each chapter. Some questions in this book bring up amusing “fun trivia.” Most questions address important clinical problems seen in the ED, and they provide valuable insight into diagnosis and management."
Pediatric Secrets
Por "With the publication of the seventh edition, we have tried to remain true to the spirit of earlier editions by incorporating both topics that examine fundamentals of pediatric care involving pathophysiologic principles, differential diagnoses, and evidence-based treatments as well as those of clinical controversy and uncertainty that might pique a reader’s interest to explore in greater detail."
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Sleep Medicine
Por
Textbook of Pediatric Rheumatology
Por "... The eighth edition of the Textbook of Pediatric Rheumatology has engaged the expertise of many new authors whose contributions have often been built on the work of authors of the previous editions to whom we are grateful. At the same time, these new authors have presented a somewhat different and updated viewpoint. ... We hope that this contribution will provide a reference for the student of pediatric rheumatology, will demonstrate the challenges and excitement of the specialty of pediatric rheumatology, and will facilitate optimal comprehensive management of children and adolescents with rheumatic diseases throughout the world."
