Avoiding and Treating Dental Complications
Basic Guide to Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Por "An illustrated guide to oral and maxillofacial surgery, written by dental nurses for dental nurses Basic Guide to Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery will help you understand the role of the dental nurse in oral and maxillofacial surgical procedures. Written in a highly accessible style, comprehensive coverage includes anatomy of the head and neck, pain and anxiety control, assessment clinics, equipment selection, extractions, soft tissue lesions, and trauma and more complex procedures."
Essentials of Dental Caries
Sports Dentistry: Principles and Practice
Por "Sports Dentistry: Principles and Practice is a comprehensive resource that addresses all aspects of this burgeoning field of dentistry. Provides a comprehensive manual that covers the fundamental principles and practice of sports dentistry Addresses all aspects of sports dentistry, including treatment of injuries, preventative measures, oral health and marketing and practice management Offers information on providing dental facilities at sporting arenas Presents suggestions for treating young children and the specific issues they present Includes a companion website with illustrative case studies."
Basic Guide to Dental Procedures (Second Edition)
Por "Basic Guide to Dental Procedures, Second Edition provides an essential introduction to the core preventative and restorative treatments routinely carried out in the modern dental practice. Written as a guide for the whole dental team, 'before and after' colour photographs enable the reader to understand and explain the procedures to their patient with confidence. Each section is clearly structured to cover the reasoning behind the treatment described, the relevant dental background, the basics of how each procedure is carried out and any necessary aftercare information."
Basics of Dental Technology: A Step by Step Approach (Second Edition)
Por "Now available in a second edition, Basics of Dental Technology is a complete reference for the current techniques and materials used in dental technology. Retains the accessible, task-based approach and step-by-step guidance of the first edition Features updates throughout, as well as a new chapter on digital dental technology and an interactive student website to support self-assessment Explains key competencies, concepts, instruments, and equipment, and also introduces more specialist techniques and procedures, such as denture prosthetics, fixed prosthodontics and orthodontic work Provides essential information for trainee dental technicians and students learning about dental technology, including study tips and strategies for working effectively within a dental team."
Dental Statistics Made Easy
Por "This essential textbook presents the basics of dental statistics in an accessible way, combining explanation in non-technical language with key messages, practical examples, suggestions for further reading and exercises complete with detailed solutions. There is an emphasis on the principles and application of statistics without the use of algebra. The statistical material is strongly rooted in practical examples drawn from a wide range of journal articles representing both dental health care delivery and clinical dentistry."
Living and Radiological Anatomy of the Head and Neck for Dental Students
Por "A sound knowledge of head and neck anatomy is essential for the safe and effective practice of clinical dentistry, and much clinically relevant and important anatomy can be learned by examining the living subject in conjunction with radiological images, especially those using CT reconstruction. This book bridges the gap between 'textbook' topographical anatomy and the anatomy of the living subject, as experienced in clinical practice. With detailed instructions on how to locate and examine anatomical structures, this practical guide encourages students to work together in small groups, examining each other and themselves as living models. As they progress through the book, students will become more confident about correlating living and radiological examination. The radiographic content utilises the latest forms of imaging and is intended to complement, where relevant, the topographical features in the living subject. Contents include:* Practical tips on head and neck examination* Bony landmarks* Testing the cranial nerves* Examining the buccal cavity and oropharynx* Examining the arterial pulses, salivary glands and lymph nodes * The temporomandibular joint (TMJ) and the muscles of mastication* Neck landmarks* Joints and movements of the head and neck * The scalp, ear and eye"
The ADA Practical Guide to Soft Tissue Oral Disease (Second Edition)
Por "The ADA Practical Guide to Soft Tissue Oral Disease, Second Edition is a fully updated new edition of this popular guide to oral and maxillofacial diseases likely to be encountered in general or specialist dental practices. Easy-to-use, updated resource with brief synopses for everyday clinical reference Includes self-testing clinicopathologic exercises to help readers further their skills and gain confidence in their knowledge Focuses on decision making, from communicating diagnoses to developing and discussing treatment plans Presents clinically oriented information on the most important aspects of common oral and maxillofacial diseases Features detailed color illustrations, treatment algorithms, differential diagnosis, and case examples with discussion."
Basic Guide to Infection Prevention and Control in Dentistry (Second Edition)
Por "A practical step-by-step guide for all members of the dental team Thoroughly updated, this new edition ensures all members of the dental team are up to speed on the practical aspects of infection prevention and control. It provides step-by-step guidance on the safe running of a dental practice, clear and concise explanations of the key issues and concepts, an overview of the evidence base, and coverage of legal and regulatory issues about which all staff members need to be aware. With more colour photographs and illustrations than the first edition, it also includes appendices full of useful practical and clinical information, and a companion website offering helpful instructional videos and self-assessment questions. Key topics include communicable diseases, occupational health and immunization, sharp safe working, hand hygiene, personal protective equipment, disinfection of dental instruments, surface decontamination, dental unit waterlines, clinical waste management, and pathological specimen handling. An indispensable working resource for the busy dental practice, Basic Guide to Infection Prevention and Control in Dentistry, 2nd Edition is also an excellent primer for dental students."
Business Basics for Dentists
Local Anesthesia and Extractions for Dental Students: Simple Notes and Guidelines
Por "This textbook presents basic principles of local anesthesia and exodontia for undergraduate dental program students and dental surgeons in training. Readers will understand key concepts and points that prepare them for daily oral and maxillofacial surgery practice. The book also provides detailed notes for managing patients who have different medical conditions such as cardiovascular diseases, endocrine disorders and systemic diseases. Key Features:provides an easy to understand short note format of information for readerscovers the basics of anesthesia and pain biologycovers simple extractions to complex surgical extractions presents guidelines for managing patients with medical complications"
Pickard's Guide to Minimally Invasive Operative Dentistry
The Complete Dentist: Positive Leadership and Communication Skills for Success
Por "The Complete Dentist: Positive Leadership and Communication Skills for Success is a one-of-a-kind guide to starting and running an effective and successful dental practice. Presents tried-and-true ideas and methods for effective communication, blending positive psychology with leadership in dentistry Describes the five elements of success and happiness, offering pathways to a flourishing dental practice Considers the reasons why communication and leadership skills are important for dentists."
Basic Guide to Medical Emergencies in the Dental Practice
Por "The Basic Guide to Medical Emergencies in the Dental Practice is a must-have book for all dental care professionals and general dentists. Written in a clear and accessible style, this second edition has been fully revised and updated in line with the latest guidelines. Chapters cover such key topics as the ABCDE approach to patient assessment, resuscitation equipment, respiratory and cardiac disorders, paediatric emergencies, and legal and ethical issues. Readers will also find two brand new chapters on the principles of first aid, and drugs for medical emergencies. Follows Resuscitation Council (UK) Guidelines Companion website with self-assessment exercises, serving as revision as well as non-verifiable CPD credit Over 50% new images Student friendly colourful layout with learning outcomes.
Diagnosing Dental and Orofacial Pain
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office
Quick Reference to Dental Implant Surgery
Por "Quick Reference to Dental Implant Surgery offers busy practitioners quick access to all the essential information needed for successful dental implant surgery--from case selection to radiographic examination, scrub-in to post-operative care. How-to information in a concise, spiral-bound, quick-access format Concrete guidelines for common scenarios before, during, and after surgery Numerous charts, tables, checklists, and callouts An abundance of stunning, full-color photographs illustrating key points covered Text boxes containing clinical recommendations to help facilitate quick navigation."
The Dentist's Quick Guide to Medical Conditions
Por "With increasing numbers of dental patients being elderly or having medical conditions, it is important for the dentist to understand how these conditions may impact dental treatment. The Dentist's Quick Guide to Medical Conditions presents the relevant information dentists need--symptoms, diagnostic tests, medications prescribed, and dental management--for each disease and condition. Chapters will focus on each major bodily system, including respiratory, cardiovascular, hematologic, endocrine, gastrointestinal, immune, nervous, reproductive, and urinary, as well as chapters on the liver, kidneys, skin, and psychological conditions. Appendices list guidelines for antibiotic prophylaxis, additional conditions requiring antibiotics, and a quick list of diagnostic tests."